Sunday, April 29, 2012

Discon 2012 Speech Winners

The 2012 district conference showcased the best speakers in the Philippines, from division’s A-K, compete for 1st place in three categories: Table Topics, Humorous and International Prepared. All of them were amazingly talented communicators. However, there can only be one champion for each category. The winners for this years discon are lucky because, aside from the usual trophy, they also get to receive a perpetual trophy. This is one additional baggage the contestants were happy to lug around, I bet. The perpetual trophy contains the names of the past champions for each category. The champions get to keep it for 2 months after which they have to surrender it to the district governor so that it can be passed on to the next speech champion. There is one perpetual trophy for each category – International Prepared, Table Topics, Humorous and Evaluation. All four trophies have been given to the district by TM Khris Albano. District 75 thanks you for your generosity Khris!

Here is a list of the winners for the 2012 Speech contest.

Table Topics Speech Contest
1st Place: Richard John U. Cua-Ho – Division C (Taipan Toastmasters Club)
2nd Place: Daryl B. Ponard – Division G (Pines City Toastmasters Club)
3rd Place: Amanda Fe C. Echeverria – Division E (Durian Toastmaster Club)

Humorous Speech Contest
1st Place: Carminia M. Borja - Division C (Aboitiz Toastmasters Club)
2nd Place: Michael Benedict J. Unson – Division H (Alabang Community Toastmasters Club)
3rd Place: Maria Teresa S. Chiew – Division E (Durian Toastmaster Club)

International Prepared Speech Contest
1st Place: Herminigildo V. Garrobo – Division G (Pines City Toastmasters Club)
2nd Place: Celia Castillo– Division E – (Durian Toastmaster Club)
3rd Place: Meg Angela Amores – Division I – (MEZ 1 Toastmasters Club)

Congratulations to all the contestants who fearlessly competed in 2012 Discon. Kudos to Division C for winning two categories – Humorous and Table Topics and to Division G for winning the International Prepared Speech category – for the fourth year in a row! I wonder what Division can break this streak? See you in next year’s district conference!

Discon 2012 List of Contestants

The sun, the sand, fantastic food and a parade of the best speakers in the Philippines - the perfect ending to any summer. For those who were able to attend the 2012 Discon in Samal Island with me, I’m sure you would agree that this was one of the best discon’s ever. It wasn’t just because of the great venue or even the good food. The real stars were the 29  contestants for all three speech categories – International Prepared, Humorous and Impromptu. I’ve attended several discons already and this year was one of the best contestant-wise. All of the contestants were so good. It was truly a battle of the best of the best. For me, they were all champions.

To give credit to all the contestants, here’s a list of who competed in this years district conference:

Table Topics Speech Contestants
Division A: Miriam Jane R. Santos – Presidents Toastmasters Club
Division B: Arthur Bhenedict K. King – UECP
Division C: Richard John U. Cua-Ho – Taipan Toastmasters Club
Division D: Jared Karl Ulric D. Rubin – Riverside Toastmasters Club
Division E: Amanda Fe C. Echeverria – Durian Toastmaster Club
Division F: Stefanie L. Uy – Iligan Toastmasters Club
Division G: Daryl B. Ponard – Pines City Toastmasters Club
Division H: Jean Marriell R. Cetra – Abojeb Toastmasters Club
Division I: Alpha Mae A. Del Mar – MEZ 1 Toastmasters Club
Division K: Rowena Micah R. Sula – Spi Global Toastmasters Club

Humorous Speech Contest
Division A: Jeffrey H. Garcia – iConnect Toastmasters Club
Division B: Andrew Gonzaga - UECP
Division C: Carminia M. Borja - Aboitiz Toastmasters Club
Division D: Leandro L. Severino – First Farmers Toastmasters Club
Division E: Maria Teresa S. Chiew – Durian Toastmaster Club
Division F: Alquine Roy Taculin – Iligan Toastmasters Club
Division G: Regina T. Pedrono – Pines City Toastmasters Club
Division H: Michael Benedict J. Unson – Alabang Community Toastmasters Club
Division I: Eugene Tan – MEZ 1 Toastmasters Club
Division K: Marilyn M. Mercado – IAME and Associates Toastmasters Club

International Prepared Speech Contest
Division A: Rey G. Pineda – Greenhills Prime Toastmasters Club
Division B: Louie John M. Banta – TOPS Toastmasters Club
Division C: Darwin John N. Moises – Lexmark R&D Toastmasters Club
Division D: Meliton E. Sillador Jr. – First Farmers Toastmasters Club
Division E: Celia Castillo– Durian Toastmaster Club
Division F:Ramonette L. Olandesca– Golden Friendship Toastmasters Club
Division G: Herminigildo V. Garrobo – Pines City Toastmasters Club
Division H: Maria Lourdes E. Ranario – Metro Lipa Toastmasters Club
Division I: Meg Angela Amores – MEZ 1 Toastmasters Club
Division K: Votaire R. Victoria – PHILCOMAN and Associates Toastmasters Club